31 Days of Vintage E-Books

Earlier this year I loaded e-readers intended as gifts for two very different people. One for a teenage girl who loves fiction and fantasy, and one for a grown man who prefers poetry, philosophy and non-fiction. I managed to place a couple hundred suitable books on each e-reader without any financial cost, but I spent many hours online hunting through the world of public domain books in order to accomplish this. The e-readers were big hits with their recipients, and I had found all the material I needed to supply my readers with 31 Days of Vintage Books. Vintage e-books As much as I love the look, smell and feel of a real paper book, I believe that E-readers are one of the world’s greatest inventions.  In a strange twist, the technology of e-readers has made books available to us that would otherwise be lost to age and the ever-advancing march of the entertainment industry. Since devoted volunteers began “saving” vintage books by making them available online, various websites have arisen to make them more accessible. At this time, the sheer number of books now available is overwhelming.  It can often be difficult to know where to find what you’re looking for, and well nigh impossible to comfortably browse. With 31 Days of Vintage Books, I hope to take some of the mystery out of the world of public domain books.  During the week I will post a variety of free e-books, organized by genre. On the weekends we will discuss websites where public domain books can be found, as well as the best ways to navigate them. On the 31st day, I hope to unveil a special project which I have been working on for the last 2 years.  Stay tuned! I hope you’ll join me as we explore the wealth of words that awaits us.

Day 18: The World of Public Domain Audio
Day 25: Homeschool Commons and Lit2Go
Day 27: Theological Writings
Day 29: Classics
Day 30: Miscellaneous
Day 31: Project Unveiling!

4 thoughts on “31 Days of Vintage E-Books

  1. I am going to need a new Kindle just to load all of these incredible links, Lizzie. And I am excited about that problem. Have I told you that I am absolutely loving this series?? It is AWESOME. The only thing that it needs is some emoticons…

    Like

    • Glad to know this series is useful. 🙂 I personally prefer an e-reader with external storage. That way I can keep all my e-books on my 16-Gb micro-SD card. Unfortunately Nook went the way of Amazon/Kindle in their latest SimplyTouch design, and they’re trying to limit books to what you purchase through their business. 😦 If you can find one, I highly recommend the Nook Simple Touch Glowlight. (It’s the version AFTER the Nook Simple Touch but before the Nook Glowlight, neither of which I like….. )

      Like

  2. This is a great series! I have a Kindle. I still prefer reading an actual book I think but ebooks are great for taking to the doctor, on vacation, or to read whenever I get a chance. I’m always looking for more books to put on my kindle.

    Like

Leave a comment